Online Sunshine Logo
Official Internet Site of the Florida Legislature
March 23, 2019
Text: 'NEW Advanced Legislative Search'
Interpreter Services for the Deaf and Hard of Hearing
Go to MyFlorida House
House Speaker Feeney Press Release
House seal

Florida House of Representatives
Office of Speaker Tom Feeney

July 18, 2001

CONTACT: Kimberly Stone
(850) 488-1450

Speaker Feeney Appoints Council and Committee Members
for 2001-2002

TALLAHASSEE—Today, House Speaker Tom Feeney appointed his House Council and Committee chairs and members for the remainder of 2001 and 2002 pursuant to House rules.

The Speaker was able to honor most of the requests made by the members, while still meeting the needs of the House. Many of the members will be serving in the same capacity as they were in the 2001 Legislative Session.

“The changes in committee assignments were designed to advance the interests of Florida by establishing roles in the State House that I believe members will excel in and be most comfortable with,” said Speaker Tom Feeney.

The Fiscal Responsibility Council experienced the most change, appointing five new legislators including Representatives Argenziano, Bowen, Haridopolos, Jennings, and Siplin.

Other Changes Include:

Council for Healthy Communities: Representative Sandy Murman, Chair
Representative Gayle Harrell
Representative Stan Mayfield

Council for Lifelong Learning: Representatives Ralph Arza
Representative Susan Bucher

Fiscal Policy and Resources: Representative Andy Gardiner
Representative Jerry Paul
Representative Terry Fields

General Government Appropriations: Representative John Carassas
Representative Donna Clarke

Health and Human Services App.: Representative Jim Kallinger
Representative Anne Gannon

House Redistricting: Representative Ron Greenstein

Insurance: Representative Carey Baker

Local Government & Veterans Affairs: Representative Loranne Ausley
Representative David Simmons

Rules, Ethics, & Elections: Representative Aaron Bean

Senate Redistricting: Representative Paula Dockery

Transportation & Economic Development: Representative Joe Pickens

Transportation Appropriations: Representative Mike Hogan
Representative Susan Bucher

Utilities and Telecommunications: Representative Jerry Maygarden, Chair
Representative Holly Benson
Representative Mark Weissman

“Utilization was a key concept for me in assigning the new committee roles. We have an incredibly diverse and talented group of individuals in the Florida House, and my hope is to utilize each of them in the way that will benefit the state of Florida the most completely,” said Speaker Tom Feeney.

View a complete list of House Committee and Council Assignments (PDF)