

State University System (SUS)



## September 2001

1	What is the State	The State University System (SUS) consists of eleven public
1.		postsecondary institutions:
	University System?	• the University of Florida (UF), with a main campus located
		in Alachua County
		<ul> <li>the Florida State University (FSU), with a main campus</li> </ul>
		located in Leon County
		<ul> <li>the Florida Agricultural &amp; Mechanical University (FAMU), with a main campus located in Leon County</li> </ul>
		• the University of South Florida (USF), with a main campus
		located in Hillsborough County and two fiscally autonomous campuses, the University of South Florida St. Petersburg
		<ul> <li>and the University of South Florida Sarasota/Manatee</li> <li>the Florida Atlantic University (FAU), with partner</li> </ul>
		campuses located in Palm Beach County & Broward County
		• the University of West Florida (UWF), with a main campus
		located in Escambia County
	· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·	• the University of Central Florida (UCF), with a main
		campus located in Orange County
		• the University of North Florida (UNF), with a main campus located in Duval County
		• the Florida International University (FIU), with a main
		campus located in Dade County
		• the Florida Gulf Coast University (FGCU), with a main
		campus located in Lee County
		New College of Florida, a residential liberal arts honors     college, located in Sarasota County
2.	What are the goals of the State University System?	According to the most recent Strategic Plan, the goals of the State University System are to improve the quality of
		undergraduate education; provide adequate access to
		undergraduate and graduate education; increase degree
		production at all levels; enhance graduate education and
		research; solve critical problems in Florida; enhance public-
		private partnerships; develop creative and cost-effective
		programs that increase efficiency and don't sacrifice quality;
		establish a reliable source of state funding; enhance public
		education at all levels; broaden education, research, and
		advisement support through the use of information technology; provide accessibility to programs and services for all students;
		and increase on-campus residential opportunities for
		undergraduate students.
	· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·	

3.	How are the SUS institutions governed?	The 2001 Legislature established 13-member boards of trustees for each of the SUS institutions. One member must be a student body president. The remaining 12 members are appointed by the Governor. Members of the boards of trustees of the state universities must be confirmed by the Senate in the regular session immediately following appointment. Each board of trustees is vested with the authority to govern and set policy for its institution, as necessary to provide proper governance and improvement of the institution in accordance with law and with rules of the Florida Board of Education.
4.	What are the responsibilities of the boards of trustees?	The boards of trustees are responsible for cost-effective policy decisions appropriate to the institution's mission, the implementation and maintenance of high-quality education programs within law and rule of the Florida Board of Education, the measurement of performance, the reporting of information, and the provision of input regarding state policy, budgeting, and education standards.
5.	What are the applicable statutes and rules?	Part II of Chapter 240, F.S State University System Subtitle 6C, F.A.C State University System
6.	Where can I get additional information?	Florida Department of Education Division of Colleges and Universities (850) 201-7100 <u>www.borfl.org/</u> The Florida House of Representatives Committee on Colleges & Universities (850) 488-3711