## **CONGRESSIONAL DISTRICTS**

## HB 1993 — Reapportionment; Congressional Districts of State

by Procedural & Redistricting Council and Rep. Byrd and others (CS/SB 594 by Reapportionment Committee and Senator Latvala)

Florida is currently divided into 23 congressional districts. Congressional apportionment, which occurs at the federal level, is the process of allocating 435 seats in the United States House of Representatives among the 50 states based on the population of each state. Based on the official apportionment counts submitted to the President of the United States by the Census Bureau on December 28, 2000, Florida is entitled to an additional two congressional seats, bringing the state total to 25. This bill apportions Florida into 25 contiguous congressional districts (Plan S19C0017).

The bill (Chapter 2002-12, L.O.F.) achieves exact population equality. Twenty-two districts have 639,295 persons, based on the 2000 census, and three have 639,296 persons. In accordance with s. 8(a), Art. X, State Constitution, the United States Decennial Census of 2000 is adopted for the purposes of the bill. The bill also provides for the treatment of omitted areas and for any areas specified for inclusion in one district that are entirely surrounded by other districts.

In accordance with Section 5 of the Voting Rights Act (42 U.S.C. §1973c), any statutory change to procedures relating to voting and elections, insofar as the change affects voters in Collier, Hardee, Hendry, Hillsborough, and Monroe County, is subject to preclearance by the United States Department of Justice.

If approved by the Governor, the congressional districts prescribed in the bill shall apply with respect to the qualification, nomination, and election to the office of representative to the Congress of the United States in the primaries and general elections held in 2002 and thereafter and shall take effect upon expiration of the terms of the incumbent members of the Florida Congressional Delegation.

Vote: Senate 25-14; House 76-41

## LEGISLATIVE DISTRICTS

## HJR 1987 — Reapportionment; Legislative Districts of State

by Procedural & Redistricting Council and Rep. Byrd and others (CS/SJR 580 by Reapportionment Committee and Senator Laurent)

This joint resolution apportions Florida into 40 consecutively numbered, single-member, senatorial districts of contiguous territory (Plan S17S0036), and into 120 consecutively numbered, single-member, representative districts of contiguous territory (Plan H062H001). Under the 2000 census, the target population per single-member district for a 40-seat Senate is 399,559, and 133,186 per single-member district for a 120-seat House. The joint resolution has a range of population of 118 persons (0.0 percent) for Senate districts, and a range of population of 3,733 persons (2.8 percent) for House districts.

In accordance with s. 8(a), Art. X, State Constitution, the United States Decennial Census of 2000 is adopted for purposes of the joint resolution. The joint resolution provides for the treatment of omitted areas and for any areas specified for inclusion in one district that are entirely surrounded by other districts.

Article III, s. 16(c), State Constitution, provides for review of this joint resolution of apportionment by the Florida Supreme Court. Also, in accordance with Section 5 of the Voting Rights Act (42 U.S.C. §1973c), any statutory change to procedures relating to voting and elections, insofar as the change affects voters in Collier, Hardee, Hendry, Hillsborough, and Monroe County, is subject to preclearance by the United States Department of Justice.

This joint resolution shall apply to the qualification, nomination, and election of members of the Florida Legislature in the primary and general elections of 2002 and thereafter. *Vote: Senate 28-9; House 74-43*