Online Sunshine Logo
Official Internet Site of the Florida Legislature
May 21, 2024
Text: 'NEW Advanced Legislative Search'
Interpreter Services for the Deaf and Hard of Hearing
Go to MyFlorida House
Go to MyFlorida House
Select Year:  
The Florida Statutes

The 2023 Florida Statutes (including Special Session C)

Title XXXV
Chapter 601
View Entire Chapter
F.S. 601.09
601.09 Citrus districts.
(1) For purposes of this chapter, the state is divided into six districts composed of:
(a) Citrus District One: Collier, Hendry, and Lee Counties.
(b) Citrus District Two: Charlotte and DeSoto Counties.
(c) Citrus District Three: Glades, Highlands, and Okeechobee Counties.
(d) Citrus District Four: Hardee, Hillsborough, Manatee, Pinellas, and Sarasota Counties.
(e) Citrus District Five: Citrus, Hernando, Levy, Osceola, Pasco, Polk, and Sumter Counties.
(f) Citrus District Six: Alachua, Brevard, Broward, Flagler, Indian River, Lake, Marion, Martin, Miami-Dade, Monroe, Orange, Palm Beach, Putnam, St. Johns, Seminole, St. Lucie, and Volusia Counties.
(2) The Legislature intends that the citrus districts be reviewed and, if necessary to maintain substantially equal volumes of citrus production within each district, redistricted every 5 years. The commission may, once every 5 years, review the citrus districts based on the total boxes produced within each district during the preceding 5 years and, based on the commission’s findings, submit recommendations to the Legislature for redistricting in accordance with this subsection.
History.s. 9, ch. 25149, 1949; s. 2, ch. 85-49; s. 2, ch. 90-127; s. 1, ch. 95-174; s. 1, ch. 2000-205; s. 1, ch. 2005-6; s. 14, ch. 2011-56; s. 12, ch. 2012-182; s. 3, ch. 2022-117.